The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development, and care of children from birth to 5 years old and supports an integrated approach to early learning and care.

There are four main themes underpinning the EYFS:

Unique Child - Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships - Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Enabling Environments - Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.

Learning and Development - Children develop and learn in different ways and practitioners teach children by ensuring challenging, playful opportunities across the prime and specific areas of learning and development.

EYFS Areas of Learning and Development
There are seven areas of learning in the EYFS. The prime areas are fundamental, developing quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge and grow out of the prime areas.

The three prime areas are:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Communication and Language

Physical Development

The four specific areas are:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design

If you would like more information please see the EYFS Parent Guide and the guide on development What to Expect When.